Tag Archives: Justin Amash Terri Lynn Land Pete Hoekstra

Kent County GOP Officials and Grassroots Leaders Endorse Pete Hoekstra for Senate

More Than 100 Kent County Republicans Officially Endorse the Former Congressman

Holland, Mich. – Today, more than 100 Kent County GOP officials and grassroots leaders endorsed Pete Hoekstra for the U.S. Senate during a rally at the Kent County Republican Party headquarters. Among the endorsers were former Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land, former U.S. Ambassador to Italy Peter Secchia, and Congressman Justin Amash (MI-3) .

“I am pleased to endorse former Congressman Pete Hoekstra for the U.S. Senate,” said Congressman Amash. “If our country is going to return to fiscal sanity, we must stop the government’s spending binge and put families and businesses back in control of their own destinies. Replacing Debbie Stabenow with Pete Hoekstra is an important step toward that goal.”

Former Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land, Imagewho today endorsed Hoekstra, stated, “Pete Hoekstra is an excellent candidate who will give our party the best chance to defeat Debbie Stabenow and put us one step closer to a Republican Senate Majority.”

Pete Hoekstra served West Michigan as a United States Congressman from 1993 to 2011. He was first elected to Congress by running a grassroots-based campaign, using a bicycle to travel around the district.

“I would like to thank everyone who gave me their endorsement today,” said Hoekstra. “Michigan cannot afford the out-of-control spending Debbie Stabenow has consistently supported, and Michigan voters understand that. It is time to stop Debbie Stabenow from sending President Obama a blank check. As Michigan’s senator, I will protect the pocketbooks of taxpayers and stand up for Michigan workers, Michigan families, and the Michigan economy.”

The following names are among the individuals who today announced their endorsement of Pete Hoekstra:

Current and Former Elected Leaders:
Former Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land
Former Ambassador to Italy Peter Secchia
Congressman Justin Amash (MI-03)
Former Congressman Vern Ehlers (MI-03)
State Senator Dave Hildenbrand
State Senate Majority Floor Leader Arlan Meekhof
State Representative Lisa Posthumus-Lyons
State Representative Peter MacGregor
Former State Representative Kevin Green
Kent County Commissioner Mike Wawee
Kent County Commissioner Stan Ponstein
Kent County Commissioner Dan Koorndyk

Sam Cummings, Kent County Businessperson and Philanthropist
Mike Jandernoa, Kent County Businessperson and Philanthropist
Charlie Secchia, Kent County Businessperson and GOP Activist

GOP Leaders:
Former Republican National Committeeman Chuck Yob
MI GOP Secretary Hank Fuhs
MI GOP State Committeemember Kim Yob
MI GOP State Committeemember Dave Dishaw
Kent County GOP Treasurer Jordan Bush
Barry County GOP Chairman Jake Jelsema
Aquinas College Republican Chair John Lohrstorfer

Grassroots Activists:
Justin Tomei
Mitch Lyons
Ashley Smith
Kent Boersema
Chris Bradley
Colin Tobin
Don Goris
Doug Koopman
Andy Steenstra
Sharon Lapp
Erin Roberts
Scott Greenlee
Harold Schillinger
Bryan Harrison
Richard Houskamp
Renee Houskamp
Mark Hessler
Amanda Van Essen
Robert Johns
Eric Bassett
John Amash
Kara Chan
David Wells
Bob Blanchard
Bob Burt
Alicia Orzechowski
Elizabeth Ogrodzinski
Don Jandernoa
Gus Portela
Greg Hoezee
Keary Sawyer